Japan Dolphin Day-Miami (protest for whales and dolphins)

14
Time
October 14 · 12:00pm – 2:00pm

Location In front of the Japanese Consulate

80 SW 8th St
Miami, FL

Tram: 8th St. Station (Brickell loop)
get off of tram and walk WEST on 8th street for a block and you will see Japanese Consulate on the left

Parking: 8th St. has a strip mall called “Brickell Markplace” which I’m told has plenty of free parking less than a block away from the consulate.  It is located East of the consulate on the left side of the street.

Also paid street parking is available but limited.

Hosted By: Save Japan Dolphins and Oceanic Defense

A world-wide peaceful and lawful protest of the annual dolphin slaughter in Japan, as depicted in the Academy Awardwinning documentary The Cove and the Animal Planet series Blood Dolphins.  The Japanese government issues 23,000 permits annually to coastal communities to kill dolphins of several species.  A few are sold, at great profit, to aquariums and swim-with-dolphins programs around the world.  The captive dolphin industry subsidizes the slaughter.  The majority of the pod are then slaughtered for meat.  But the meat is contaminated with huge amounts of mercury and other pollutants, exceeding the Japanese government’s own health limits.  This is a human rights issue as much as an animal welfare issue.

Demonstrations will be going on throughout the world in front of Japanese embassies and consulates on October 14th.  Please join your fellow environmentalists and animal activists in protesting the hunts and urging Japan to switch to more sustainable and benign methods of profit, such as eco-tourism and dolphin-watching cruises (ironically becoming more popular in Japan every year).

Please join us in protesting the dolphin slaughter.  For more information on the issue, you can go to our website:
www.savejapandolphins.org

Participating Cities and nonprofit organizations:
UNITED STATES:
hosted by: Mark Palmer, Mary Jo Rice, and Melissa Gonzalez of In Defense of Animals
Orca Network, DJ-EcoElements-Seattle
orcaspirits@msn.com, howard@orcanetwork.org
NY4Whales-New York City
tlwilliams@optonline.net
Kevin Starbard: Philadelphia
kstarbard@earthlink.net
David Drolet-Atlanta
Animal Rights Action Network and Emily Wolf-Denver
ann@animalrightsactionnetwork.org, newfylove@yahoo.com
Julia Ramsey-Los Angeles
Daniela-San Diego
danielaj_94@yahoo.com
Lisa Yee-Boston
pagan_kitty05@yahoo.com
(Boston will be having an alternate Japan Dolphin Day rally on 10/7 sponsored by WDCS, WSPA, CSI, and MARC from 12-2PM in front of the Japanese consulate, I urge you to attend both events)
Courtney Vail, courtney.vail@wdcs.org
keikibeachbungalows@gmail.com
Houston Animal Rights Team (H.A.R.T.), vegan world radio, Kara: Houston
amandalouisepetrie@gmail.com, port.ashley0@gmail.com
Allie Presas and Cynthia Perez-Chicago
alpresas@sbcglobal.net, kivrosdalai@yahoo.com
Detroit
jylforsyth@gmail.com
Anchorage
Margaret -maggiekvet2b@aol.com
Portland
Rae Wilson-raemarie.wilson@comcast.net
Indianapolis, Indian
Lorraine-lorraine.rogers56838@yahoo.com
Tempe, AZ
J. Blonde, Rockstar Rescue; For The Whale Of It
jamezblonde@gmail.com
CANADA:
Toronto Chapter -
Sarah Patrick little-fizzle@hotmail.com
Calgary Chapter -
Joanne Clarke joanne.clarke@gmail.com
Ottawa Chapter-
Ottawa Animal Defense League – Sue Manns
ottawaanimaldefenseleague@hotmail.com
Vancouver-
tammara443777@hotmail.com
EUROPE:
Karen Page-London, England
karen.4page@ntlworld.com
Lucas-Edinburgh, Scotland
lucas@ruzowitzky.dk
Paris, France
aurore.d.f@free.fr
Vivamar Society-Ljubljana and Slovenija
“Resistance for Peace” and Angelique Hackl-Vienna, Austria
office@resistanceforpeace.org and angelique.hackl@gmx.at
Natalie & Nori-Libson, Portugal
natalievfox@hotmail.com
Diana Morales, dmorales@hgt.es
Zagreb Chapter – Croatia
Mariana – Prijatelji zivotinja
mariana@prijatelji-zivotinja.hr
Tom Hernan-Berlin, Germany
hernan@gmx.de
Anne-Kathrin-Hamburg, Germany
a.peterseim@live.de
Elisa Brongers
EDEV – Een DIER Een VRIEND-Rotterdam, Netherlands
elisa.brongers@edev.nl
Izabelle Maelan-Stockholm, Sweden
izabelle_91@hotmail.com
Michaela-Berne, Switzerland
m.dettinger@superpeng.org
MIDDLE EAST and INDIA:
SaveJapanDolphins.ru-Jacob Berelman, Israel
jacob@savejapandolphins.ru
Rosh-New Delhi, India
roshblog@gmail.com

ASIA PACIFIC:

Leilani Munter-Taiji, Japan

leilani@leilanimunter.com

Jess Chan-Hong Kong, China
jesstychan@gmail.com
Trixie (EII)-Philippines
eiiphils@gmail.com
Bangkok, Thailand
Femke-Indonesia
jakartaanimalaid@gmail.com
Dave-Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
russellbanfield@sbcglobal.net
Brisbane Chapter – Brisbane, Australia
Melinda Reilly-Perth, Australia
melindareilly@iprimus.com.au
Haans Silver-Melbourne, Australia
hsiver72@bigpond.com
Naomi Wong-Sydney, Australia
Jarna Hamilton-Wellington, New Zealand
j_arna@hotmail.com
Joshua Walker-Auckland, New Zealand
Joshuawalker@timelesshost.com
Aaron Nolan-Christchurch, New Zealand
az.nolan@windowslive.com
LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN:
Juan-Guatemala
estradajuan_carlos@yahoo.com
Jorge Perez and Aliança International do Animal  ”AILA”-Sao Paulo, Brazil
jorge@g3turismo.com.br and amadu10@terra.com.br
Sophie Cortina-Mexico City
sophiecortina@mac.com
reEarth-Bahamas
sam@reearth.org
EARTHCARE-Grandbahama The Bahamas
AFRICA:
Bahia Fitchen- Cape Town, South Africa
bahiafitchen@yahoo.com
Nigeria SPCA (Emmanuel Eyoh)-Nigeria, Africa
nigveganimal@yahoo.com
Here’s the list of locations: International Japanese Embassy/Consulate list:http://www.mofa.go.jp/about/emb_cons/mofaserv.html
many more cities to come so keep checking back and if you want to be included on the list email me @ shelby@savelolita.com!

Filed under Action, Dolphins, News by  #